Hello Again!

Hello! I know it’s been a while since I’ve been on here but it’s for good reason! I moved into college!

And can I just say these few days have been so overwhelming that I literally forget something I’m about to do two seconds after I’m reminded…I really need to get my thoughts in order.

First Impression of college life: Guys are really annoying and loud and obnoxious, sex and drinking are inevitable and I’m going to run out of meal points before I even make it to the end of the week.

Okay! So I have no idea why but it really bothers me when I hear about people having sex, like hearing side conversations and stuff. I think it’s just my distain for hearing about heterosexual matters because I’m so sick of hearing about a guy and a girl doing stuff WE GET IT YOU’RE STRAIGHT!

ahhhh my mind is a haze and I’m just bitching and moaning about nothing at all. I really need to get my mind in order so I’m going to revert back to my old ways now and talk about actual things instead of just ranting.

I have a class this term called Media and Society. It’s a course that teaches us about the correlation between media and the impact it has on our society. Yeah, it’s awesome and I’m pumped because I’ve been waiting for a class of my interest for so long. The teacher (who is actually pretty attractive) asked us some questions today and I’d like to discuss my opinion on them since I didn’t get to do so in class.

why do news media make the news the way they do?

This one was explained pretty well in class, it all came down to one word: money. Which makes complete sense, you try to broadcast to a certain demographic for ratings and with ratings comes advertisements and finally money!

is technology making us function better individually and as a society? 

This question got mixed views cause some said it makes us worse as a society but better as individuals and vice versa. I’m torn on this because it all depends on how you use it and what type of technology we’re talking about. If we’re talking about computers and social media, technology def made life easier but is that a good thing? I can find the answer to any question I want, but immediate gratification has made me impatient. People have lost their communication skills because being behind a screen takes away the personal feel to words. You are more likely to confess secrets online than in person because you don’t have to look at the person you’re telling it to. Cyberbullying is so big because You forget that there is a person on the other end of that screen. You wouldn’t tell a random stranger to kill themselves to their face because you can’t hide in the safety of the glow of your computer. Technology has hindered certain aspects, but it’s not all bad. The advances in things like medicine and transportation have saved many lives.

I’m sorry this post is so lame I’m just trying to get back into the groove of things. I have had to make friends in so long and I really need to do that because it’s getting lonely here and I want someone to go with me to Portland on the weekend and have an adventure. This is like high school problems for all over again I’m so sick of it! But it’s a process and it takes time and it should happen, I’m just so impatient 😉

Leave a Reply

