Movies that messed me up

Prompt: When was the last time you watched something so scary, cringe-worthy, or unbelievably tacky — in a movie, on TV, or in real life — you had to cover your eyes?

There are four movies that turned my world upside down: Eight-Legged Freaks, Quarantine, Devil’s Pass, and the most important…The Conjuring.

Eight legged freaks was the first “scary movie” I’ve ever seen. I was about 5 and my sister and I were watching it upstairs. Before the movie I don’t have any recollection of being afraid of spiders but after that movie…13 years later and I’m still terrified of them. For the longest time I believed spiders could grow to the size of cars and they would steal me in the night.

Quarantine: This was my first official scary movie. The entire time I had my eyes closed and screamed at scary noises. I’m not exactly proud of this but it prevented me from seeing anymore horror movies for some time.

The Conjuring: This movie right here! This movie messed me up, then cleaned me up, then ruined me again. I saw this movie with a friend and, eyes closed the entire time, I decided it was the best movie I had ever seen because it scared me so bad I was no longer afraid of horror movies.  I used abused my new superpowers by watching nothing but horror flicks and ghost hunting shows for 5 months straight. To be continued…

Devil’s Pass: During my run of horror movies I ran into this movie on Netflix. What I was searching for was a movie that would scare me into being afraid of scary movies again because I was afraid watching all these movies was desensitizing me. I no longer felt fear and what I discovered was that without fear I didn’t have the drive to overcome my fears. It’s thought that you must overcome your fears to achieve your goals but if you don’t have any fears then what satisfaction is there in overcoming something you don’t feel? Well, I got what I was looking for with this movie, scared me so bad I couldn’t finish it. To this day I still don’t know the ending and I don’t really want to know and I’m just fine with that.

The Conjuring: I downloaded this movie and was going to watch it again (I had forgotten almost everything about the movie). I watched the movie with my sister and I regret that decision. It scared the daylights out of me and could not sleep. I like to do this thing where I do some behind the scenes research so the movie starts feeling more like a movie and less realistic ( I get really invested in movies), this however made it even worse. What I thought was just tall tale turned out to be real as I heard stories from the actual family about the real things that went on in the house. That night I didn’t sleep at all. I  stayed for 24 hours and was so freaked out that I had to sit outside of my house until my parents came home. I just sat in a wicker chair, petrified, and sweating for an hour until someone finally came home. The next night I could barely sleep, I had to have my computer on playing movies all night. Eventually I got over it but I still think my house is haunted at times and I do wake up with the fear that I’ll see someone standing at the end of my bed.

So there you have it the four movies that scared the shit out me, then there is The Human Centipede but…that’s another story for another day.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/cant-watch-this/

Leave a Reply

